Detalle

Ampliar

Scarlet Women

Autor: Graham, Ian

Editorial: Thomas Dunne Books

Formato:Tapa Dura

Tipo Saldo

Precio de Lista:$26.99
Nuestro Precio:$5.39 (80% Descuento) USD
Precio OFERTA:$3.77 USD
Stock:10

Resumen:

Scarlet Women : In 1965, an impoverished elderly woman was found dead in Nice, France. Her death marked the end of an era; she was the last of the great courtesans. Known as La Belle Otero, she was a volcanic Spanish beauty whose patrons included Kaiser Wilhelm II, the Prince of Wales (later King Edward VII) and Grand Duke Nicholas of Russia. She accumulated an enormous fortune, but gambled it all away. Scarlet Women tells her story and many more, including:

Marie Duplessis, who inspired characters by both Dumas and Verdi.
Clara Ward, a rare American courtesan who hunted for a European aristocrat, but having married a Belgian prince, ran away with a gypsy violinist.
Ninon de L'Enclos, who was offered 50,000 crowns by Cardinal Richelieu for one night. Money left in her will paid for Voltaire's education.

Courtesans were an elite group of talented, professional mistresses. The most successful became wealthy and famous in their own right. While they led charmed lives, they occupied a curious position: they enjoyed freedom and political power unknown to most women, but they were ostracised by polite society.

From the hetaerae of ancient Greece to the cortigiani onesti of 16th century Venice, the oiran of Edo-period Japan to the demimondaines of 19th century France, this captivating book - perfect for readers of A Treasury of Royal Scandals - uncovers the rich, colorful lives of these women who dared to pursue fortunes outside their societies' norms. NOTE: This is a Scratch and Dent book and may have noticeable dents, scratches and various other cosmetic issues as well as torn or missing dust jacket. These items are only guaranteed to be structurally complete and readable and therefore are sold as is.


Categoría   Sub-Categoría
Ciencias Sociales   General
History & Geography   Social History
Biografía y Autobiografía   Women

ISBN 13:9781250062635
ISBN 10:1250062632
Formato:Tapa Dura
Idioma:Inglés
Páginas:294
Tamaño:9.56" l x 6.45" w x 1.08" h
Edades:
Grado:

Los clientes que compraron el libro de arriba, también compraron estos libros