Detalle

Ampliar

Land of the High Flags: Afghanistan When the Going was Good

Autor: Coe, Andrew (Edt)
Klass, Rosanne

Editorial: Odyssey Publications

Formato:Tapa Suave
Precio de Lista:$19.95
Nuestro Precio:$7.49 (62% Descuento) USD
Stock:4

Resumen:

Land of the High Flags: Afghanistan When the Going was Good : A memoir of lost Afghanistan. When the going was good, a young American woman traveled to the then-remote country of Afghanistan. A classic memoir in the tradition of Rebecca West, Rosanne Klass'sLand of the High Flagsis an insightful account of the land and its proud people. She was the first woman to teach boys from the country's villages, at a time when Afghan women were still kept hidden behind veils. Ms. Klass writes of Afghan traditions, of stark, splendid landscapes, and of the enduring friendships she made at a time when Afghanistan was reaching out to a hopeful future. Hailed by critics when it first appeared, this reissue of a classic includes additional new sections telling of her return to Afghanistan as a journalist—and of what became of the friends she brought to life for her readers. This is a vivid portrait of Afghanistan as it was before Afghan life was blasted into ruins like the great Buddhas of Bamian by the wars and the Taliban. 16 black & white photos, 1 map.


Categoría   Sub-Categoría
Viajes   Essays & Travelogues
Viajes   Middle East
Biografía y Autobiografía   Personal Memoirs

ISBN 13:9789622177864
ISBN 10:9622177867
Formato:Tapa Suave
Idioma:Inglés
Páginas:344
Tamaño:8.50" l x 6.00" w x 1.00" h
Edades:
Grado: