Detalle

Ampliar

In Manchuria: A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China

Autor: Meyer, Michael

Editorial: Bloomsbury Publishing

Formato:Papel Delgado (Paperback)
Precio de Lista:$19.00
Nuestro Precio:$5.89 (69% Descuento) USD
Stock:117

Resumen:

In Manchuria: A Village Called Wasteland and the Transformation of Rural China :

In the tradition of In Patagonia and Great Plains, Michael Meyer's In Manchuria is a scintillating combination of memoir, contemporary reporting, and historical research, presenting a unique profile of China's legendary northeast territory. For three years, Meyer rented a home in the rice-farming community of Wasteland, hometown to his wife's family. Their personal saga mirrors the tremendous change most of rural China is undergoing, in the form of a privately held rice company that has built new roads, introduced organic farming, and constructed high-rise apartments into which farmers can move in exchange for their land rights. Once a commune, Wasteland is now a company town, a phenomenon happening across China that Meyer documents for the first time; indeed, not since Pearl Buck wrote The Good Earth has anyone brought rural China to life as Meyer has here.

Amplifying the story of family and Wasteland, Meyer takes us on a journey across Manchuria's past, a history that explains much about contemporary China--from the fall of the last emperor to Japanese occupation and Communist victory. Through vivid local characters, Meyer illuminates the remnants of the imperial Willow Palisade, Russian and Japanese colonial cities and railways, and the POW camp into which a young American sergeant parachuted to free survivors of the Bataan Death March. In Manchuria is a rich and original chronicle of contemporary China and its people.


Categoría   Sub-Categoría
History & Geography   Asia
Ciencias Sociales   Sociology

ISBN 13:9781620402887
ISBN 10:1620402882
Formato:Papel Delgado (Paperback)
Idioma:Inglés
Páginas:384
Tamaño:8.29" l x 5.47" w x 1.04" h
Edades:
Grado:

Los clientes que compraron el libro de arriba, también compraron estos libros