Detalle

Ampliar

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood

Autor: Vincent, Leah

Editorial: Penguin Books

Formato:Papel Delgado (Paperback)
Precio de Lista:$16.00
Nuestro Precio:$5.39 (66% Descuento) USD
Stock:24

Resumen:

Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood : An electrifying memoir about a young woman’s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one woman’s struggle to define herself as an individual. Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, an ultra-Orthodox Jewish sect that shuns the modern world. When, at sixteen, Leah was caught exchanging letters with a boy - breaking a religious ban on contact between the sexes - her family cut all ties. Sent to live on her own in New York City, adrift and unprepared for the freedoms of secular life, Leah’s desperate loneliness coupled with her stubborn loyalty to the dogma of her past pulled her into a vicious cycle of promiscuity and self-harm. It took a shocking state of despair to empower her to transform a life of tragedy into a tale of unexpected triumph, one that illuminates both the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism and the broader issues facing young women from all backgrounds as they grapple with sexuality and identity.


Categoría   Sub-Categoría
Religión y Espiritualidad   Judaism
Biografía y Autobiografía   Personal Memoirs

ISBN 13:9780143127413
ISBN 10:0143127411
Formato:Papel Delgado (Paperback)
Idioma:Inglés
Páginas:225
Tamaño:8.08" l x 5.27" w x 0.67" h
Edades:
Grado:

Los clientes que compraron el libro de arriba, también compraron estos libros