Detalle

Ampliar

Believing is Seeing

Autor: Staniszewski, Mary Anne

Editorial: Penguin Books

Formato:Tapa Suave
Precio de Lista:$15.95
Nuestro Precio:$3.99 (75% Descuento) USD
Stock:1

Resumen:

Believing is Seeing : Why are the paleolithic Venus of Willendorf, Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescoes, and Marcel Duchamp's ready-made urinal all considered works of art? Why, strictly speaking, is a Cindy Sherman photograph more "art-like" than a Da Vinci portrait? How did the painters and sculptors of the Renaissance see their creations? And who decides what art is today? In the tradition of Marshall McLuhan and John Berger, this learned and deliciously subversive book gives us a new way of seeing our artistic heritage. Believing Is Seeing is a work of multicultural scope and glittering intelligence that bridges the gulf between classical Japanese painting and the films of Spike Lee, between high theory and pop culture. Probing beyond the rhetorical surface of standard art histories and drawing on a panoramic array of illustrative material, Mary Anne Staniszewski throws a fresh light on individual works and the often mystifying criteria by which they are valued. 308 pages.


Categoría   Sub-Categoría
Arte   Criticism

ISBN 13:9780140168242
ISBN 10:0140168249
Formato:Tapa Suave
Idioma:Inglés
Páginas:308
Tamaño:8.29" l x 5.78" w x 0.86" h
Edades:
Grado:

Los clientes que compraron el libro de arriba, también compraron estos libros