Book Details...

Click to enlarge

Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer

Author: Jones, Kelly
Kath, Katie (Ilt)

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Format:Hardcover
List Price:$16.99
Our Price:$4.29 (75% OFF) USD
Stock:500

Overview:

Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer : Fans of Polly Horvath or Roald Dahl will love this quirky story of a determined girl, and some extraordinary chickens.
 
Twelve-year-old Sophie Brown feels like a fish out of water when she and her parents move from Los Angeles to the farm they've inherited from a great-uncle. But farm life gets more interesting when a cranky chicken appears and Sophie discovers the hen can move objects with the power of her little chicken brain: jam jars, the latch to her henhouse, the entire henhouse....
 
And then more of her great-uncle's unusual chickens come home to roost. Determined, resourceful Sophie learns to care for her flock, earning money for chicken feed, collecting eggs. But when a respected local farmer tries to steal them, Sophie must find a way to keep them (and their superpowers) safe.
 
Told in letters to Sophie's abuela, quizzes, a chicken-care correspondence course, to-do lists, and more, Unusual Chickens is a quirky, clucky classic in the making.


Category   Subject
Tweens Fiction   Contemporary

ISBN 13:9780385755528
ISBN 10:038575552X
Format:Hardcover
Language:English
Pages:224
Size:8.59" l x 5.75" w x 0.83" h
Ages: 8 - 12
Grade Lvl:

Customers who bought this also bought...