Book Details...

Click to enlarge

The Book of Three (Chronicles of Prydain, Bk. 1)

Author: Alexander, Lloyd

Publisher: Henry Holt & Company

List Price:$21.99
Our Price:$7.49 (66% OFF) USD


The Book of Three (Chronicles of Prydain, Bk. 1) : Since The Book of Three was first published in 1964, young readers have been enthralled by the adventures of Taran the Assistant Pig-Keeper and his quest to become a hero. Taran is joined by an engaging cast of characters that includes Eilonwy, the strong-willed and sharp-tongued princess; Fflewddur Fflam, the hyperbole-prone bard; the ever-faithful Gurgi; and the curmudgeonly Doli -- all of whom become involved in an epic struggle between good and evil that shapes the fate of the legendary land of Prydain.

Released over a period of five years, Lloyd Alexander's beautifully written tales not only captured children's imaginations but also garnered the highest critical praise. The Black Cauldron as a Newbery Honor Book, and the final volume of the chronicles, The High King, crowned the series by winning the Newbery Medal for "the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children."

Henry Holt is proud to present this classic series to a new generation of young readers. Jackets have been handsomely redesigned while retaining the original art of Caldecott Medal -- winning artist Evaline Ness. Each retypeset volume now includes a pronunciation guide prepared by Lloyd Alexander. A companion book of short stories, The Foundling and Other Tales of Prydain, is also available in hardcover for the first time in twenty years.

In their more than twenty years in print, the Chronicles of Prydain have become the standard of excellence in fantasy literature for children.

Category   Subject
Tweens Fiction   Action & Adventure
Tweens Fiction   Fantasy

ISBN 13:9780805061321
ISBN 10:0805061320
Size:9.53" l x 6.28" w x 0.83" h
Ages: 8 - 12
Grade Lvl: