¿New?, Register Here.

Book Details...

Click to enlarge

Rabid

Author: Murphy, Monica
Wasik, Bill

Publisher: Viking Books

Format:Hardcover
List Price:$25.95
Our Price:$5.99 (77% OFF) USD
Stock:11

Overview:

Rabid : An engrossing and lively history of the fearsome and mythologized virus In the tradition of The Emperor of All Maladies and The Great Influenza, journalist Bill Wasik and veterinarian Monica Murphy chart the history, science, and cultural mythology of rabies. In the absence of vaccination -- as was true for thousands of years, until the late nineteenth century -- the rabies virus caused brain infections with a nearly 100 percent fatality rate, both in animals and humans, and the suffering it inflicted became the stuff of legend. The transmission of the virus -- often from rabid dog to man -- reawakened a primal fear of wild animals, and the illnesss violent symptoms spoke directly to mankinds fear of the beast within. The cultural response was to create fictional embodiments of those anxieties -- ravenous wolfmen, bloodsucking vampires, and armies of mindless zombies. From the myth of Actaeon to Saint Hubert, from the laboratories of the heroic and pioneering Louis Pasteur to a journalistic investigation into the madness that has gripped modern Bali, Rabid is a fresh, fascinating, and often wildly entertaining look at one of the worlds most misunderstood viruses.


Category   Subject
Medical   Infectious Diseases

ISBN 13:9780670023738
ISBN 10:0670023736
Format:Hardcover
Language:English
Pages:275
Size:8.50" l x 5.90" w x 1.00" h
Ages:
Grade Lvl:

Customers who bought this also bought...