Book Details...

Click to enlarge

My Brother's Shadow

Author: Avery, Tom

Publisher: Schwartz & Wade

Format:Library Binding
List Price:$19.99
Our Price:$3.19 (84% OFF) USD
Stock:84

Overview:

My Brother's Shadow : Fans of David Almond's Skellig and Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls will embrace this deeply affecting middle grade novel in which a girl suffering from terrible grief befriends a mysterious wild boy.

When I saw him that first time I screamed--a small and silent scream, all inside, in my gut. Eleven-year-old Kaia, who has felt isolated since her older brother committed suicide more than a year before, befriends a wild boy who mysteriously appears at her London school. Though the boy is mute and can only communicate with a flash of his gray eyes, he might be the friend Kaia needs to bring her through her grief.

Here's a fascinating story, which offers a fresh and completely original portrayal of loss and renewal.

"Readers who love stories of overcoming personal struggles and emotional strife will eat this up." --Booklist

"Fans of realistic fiction... will surely devour Avery's latest." --School Library Journal

"[Kaia's] confessional narration and self-aware observations yield a believable and haunting portrait of grief." --Publishers Weekly


From the Hardcover edition.


Category   Subject
Children Fiction   Family
Tweens Fiction   Social Situations

ISBN 13:9780385384889
ISBN 10:0385384882
Format:Library Binding
Language:English
Pages:161
Size:8.50" l x 5.69" w x 0.67" h
Ages: 8 - 12
Grade Lvl:

Customers who bought this also bought...