Book Details...

Click to enlarge

Like Family

Author: McLain, Paula

Publisher: Back Bay Books

Format:Paperback
List Price:$15.00
Our Price:$3.19 (79% OFF) USD
Sale Price:$1.19 USD
Stock:237

Overview:

Like Family :

In the tradition of Jo Ann Beard's Boys of My Youth, and Mary Karr'sThe Liar's Club, Paula McLain has written a powerful and haunting memoir about the years she and her two sisters spent as foster children. In the early 70s, after being abandoned by both parents, the girls were made wards of the Fresno County, California court and spent the next 14 years in a series of adoptive homes. The dislocations, confusions, and odd pleasures of an unrooted life form the basis of a captivating memoir. McLain's beautiful writing and limber voice capture the intense loneliness, sadness, and determination of a young girl both on her own and responsible, with her siblings, for staying together as a family.


Category   Subject
Family & Relationships   Adoption
Biography & Autobiography   Literary

ISBN 13:9780316400602
ISBN 10:0316400602
Format:Paperback
Language:English
Pages:260
Size:8.37" l x 5.45" w x 0.80" h
Ages:
Grade Lvl: