Book Details...

Click to enlarge

By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz

Author: Eisen, Max

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers

Format:Hardcover
List Price:$30.99
Our Price:$8.99 (71% OFF) USD
Stock:71

Overview:

By Chance Alone: A Remarkable True Story of Courage and Survival at Auschwitz : In the tradition of Elie Wiesel's Night and Primo Levi's Survival in Auschwitz comes a new memoir by Canadian survivor

More than 70 years after the Nazi camps were liberated by the Allies, a new Canadian Holocaust memoir details the rural Hungarian deportations to Auschwitz-Birkenau, back-breaking slave labour in Auschwitz I, the infamous "death march" in January 1945, and the painful aftermath of liberation in a journey of physical and psychological healing.

Tibor "Max" Eisen was born in Moldava, Czechoslovakia into an Orthodox Jewish family. He had an extended family of sixty members, and he lived in a family compound with his parents, his two younger brothers, his baby sister, his paternal grandparents and his uncle and aunt. In the spring of 1944--five and a half years after his region had been annexed to Hungary and the morning after the family's yearly Passover Seder--gendarmes forcibly removed Eisen and his family from their home. They were brought to a brickyard and eventually loaded onto crowded cattle cars bound for Auschwitz-Birkenau. At fifteen years of age, Eisen survived the selection process and he was inducted into the camp as a slave labourer.

One day, Eisen received a terrible blow from an SS guard. Severely injured, he was dumped at the hospital where a Polish political prisoner and physician, Tadeusz Orzeszko, operated on him. Despite his significant injury, Orzeszko saved Eisen from certain death in the gas chambers by giving him a job as a cleaner in the operating room. After his liberation and new trials in Communist Czechoslovakia, Eisen immigrated to Canada in 1949, where he has dedicated the last twenty-two years of his life to educating others about the Holocaust across Canada and around the world.


Category   Subject
Biography & Autobiography   Historical
History & Geography   Jewish
Social Science   Jewish Studies

ISBN 13:9781443449281
ISBN 10:1443449288
Format:Hardcover
Language:English
Pages:276
Size:9.32" l x 6.44" w x 1.03" h
Ages:
Grade Lvl:

Customers who bought this also bought...